UK Music Forum - Wales News - UK Breaking News
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sidebar was open. When it's closed it's fine.

    As far as I can tell, the CSS rule that is causing the problem is

    threadbit .threadlastpost dd {
    margin: 0 20px 0 20px;}

    If you change it to

    threadbit .threadlastpost dd {
    margin: 0 0 0 20px;}

    That should fix the problem. That line of CSS is setting the same margin left and right to accommodate the avatar, but it doesn't need to be there on the RHS.

    Ty

  2. #12
    wb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Edit: Ty beat me to it




    1280x800 resolution on Chrome here and I see the same:



    Can see the full time when the sidebar is closed, but I don't think it's the sidebar stopping the time from showing when it's open (as there's plenty of space in the column for it to fit).

    I'm not a CSS expert, but it looks like it could simply be the right-margin element on this below causing the white overlap? If not, I'm sure someone a bit more clued up on design will correct me.

    Code:
    .threadbit .threadlastpost dd {
    	margin:0 20px 0 20px;
    	height: 14.76px;
    	overflow: hidden;
    	white-space:nowrap;
    }

  3. #13
    aKooKa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the input guys. Have removed the margin and it's looking better for me now. How about you chaps?

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yup, works fine now Looking good.

    One other thing that seems odd to me - when you go to "Quick Links >> Today's Posts" the menu bar at the top changes to a reduced function version that appears to be connected to the "What's New" area. Personally I'd prefer the navigation to remain consistent throughout the site, not sure what others think?

  5. #15
    wb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    All looking good here now too.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ty View Post
    Personally I'd prefer the navigation to remain consistent throughout the site, not sure what others think?
    Agree with that.

    Looks like only the 'new events' and 'new group messages' links would be lost by doing so, but I don't think they would even be used (or missed) here anyway?

  6. #16
    aKooKa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We've removed the "What's New" tab, which resolves this issue. Didn't make sense to keep it as we're not using event and group msg features and it basically just replicated the view from the 'new posts' section.


    Edit: Disabling of this tab caused a few issues, so for the time being it's been re-enabled. Will look into this.

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is there something you can enable so I can load more latest posts that I haven't read. Using tap talk.

    Seems to only show today's and won't load more.

    Thanks in advance.

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Caz View Post
    Is there something you can enable so I can load more latest posts that I haven't read. Using tap talk.

    Seems to only show today's and won't load more.

    Thanks in advance.
    Yes, I'd agree with this > Having functionality that orders posts on the forum by most recent by that doesn't cut off after 24 hours would make the forum a lot more usable IMO. I've also looked for a way of doing this with the current set up but it doesn't seem to be possible.

  9. #19
    aZooZa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Expat - China
    Posts
    512
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I'm trying to find a fix for this. If anyone can find a fix or hack on Google (for vB 4.1.10) I'd appreciate it.

  10. #20
    secname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    settings > general settings >Default Thread Age Cut Off:

    change this to how many you want to display. This should do the trick

    or dale if you look at ACP->Settings->Options->Message Searching Options.

    Paul
    Last edited by secname; 27-02-12 at 02:55 PM.


 

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •