PDA

View Full Version : Domain owner difficulty

RoPey
24-04-12, 12:42 PM
Hi there
I'm a newbie here so please go easy :)

I'm a web designer and have registered quite a few domain names but the nitty gritty that I'm getting into now raises a question that I'm unsure of the answer to.

I have a new customer, a local club, that has an existing .co.uk domain and website that they want redesigned and transfered to my reseller hosting. However, the domain is registered to the original designer, not the club and there is also a second designer in the mix that has all the current hosting details which he has passed on.

The chap to whom the domain is registered has been contacted and although he has responded, he seems reluctant to help saying that the second designer has all the details. The second designer will now not respond to emails so whether he actually does have the log info for the domain on Nominet I don't know.

So the situation as I see it is that since we have all the hosting details, we can transfer the domain to our host and continue to renew it, just with the undesirable situation where the domain is registered to someone else. Can someone help me understand what the upshot of this could be for the club?

Obviously it would be better that the domain is registered to the club and not an individual, but if the situation were left as it is, what pitfalls might lie ahead?

I have suggested to the club that they register a new domain since a .co.uk is usually for a company not a club and that we simply forward the co.uk domain to the new site for a while until everyone is used to the change and they are going to consider it.

Thanks in advance for any help on this, it's very much appreciated.

RoPey

wb
24-04-12, 10:34 PM
When you say you have all the hosting details, is the domain name currently registered using the same hosting company account?