PDA

View Full Version : Domain name expires, but still registered

Gucci
03-04-14, 09:04 PM
Hello, naive newbie here. I wonder if you could solve a mystery for me. I have my eye on a domain name...I won't divulge the name if you don't mind, it's commercially sensitive for one of my clients.

Currently, the domain is registered to someone for a year - records show it was registered from 22nd July 2013 and due for renewal on 22nd July 2014.

However, I noticed the domain wasn't working 'page couldn't be found'. Another record said the domain name expired on 22nd January 2014. How can this be when its year is only halfway in from initial registration?

Thanks

crabfoot
25-06-14, 08:32 PM
Hello, naive newbie here. I wonder if you could solve a mystery for me. I have my eye on a domain name...I won't divulge the name if you don't mind, it's commercially sensitive for one of my clients.

Currently, the domain is registered to someone for a year - records show it was registered from 22nd July 2013 and due for renewal on 22nd July 2014.

However, I noticed the domain wasn't working 'page couldn't be found'.
Nobody answered? Maybe it was a silly question ...

But for the record -
a "page not found" message can be for a variety of reasons. The problem can be as simple as entering the domain in the browser bar with/without the www prefix, depending on what is the default setting for the domain.

For most reputable registrars either will do, but for some companies you have to explicitly set that dual purpose. I've seen free hosting that gives you the site with the www prefix, and an advert for the hosting without the www prefix.

Then again, it often means the domain has been pointed at a cheap host, but no site has been built. And there are other reasons why you might get a "page not found". It doesn't mean the domain is dead..

Another record said the domain name expired on 22nd January 2014. How can this be when its year is only halfway in from initial registration?

Thanks