PDA

View Full Version : Idea: registrar for domainers - what do you think?

mrt
13-07-12, 04:10 PM
Hello, everybody!

This is my first time posting but I've lurked on AD and (recently) here for a while. My background is mainly web hosting (server side) with an occasional habit of registering domains that mostly sit and gather dust - I'm sure we're all guilty of that to an extent :) Over the past few weeks I've had an idea bubbling around in my head and I'd be interested in feedback to validate whether it'd be worthwhile.

The idea largely stems from AD's Domain Name Registrars (http://www.acorndomains.co.uk/domain-name-registrars.html) forum where there are reasonably frequent complaints about registrars and their various policies and tactics that can, at times, tend to get on domainers' nerves. It seems to me there's space for a registrar aimed at domainers, making .uk domain management easier while also providing tools useful to domainers.

Of course, many serious domainers will already have a tag of their own so such a service may not be as useful, but there are many smaller domainers who can't justify the expense or don't have the technical know-how (or don't want to learn) - and this would hopefully be useful to them. Some ideas that differentiate from a regular consumer-facing registrar include:

No charges for account balance topups where possible (i.e. via BACS/DD or even old fashioned cheques) - cheaper than the 3% or so levied by most registrars requiring pre-funding when paying by card
Fixed fee per reg/renewal rather than per-year margins that add up on multi-year reg/renewals. Somewhere in the region of 30-50p on top of Nominet's cost regardless of the term - competitive pricing at the 1-year mark and almost unbeatable at the 10-year mark